Live Review: the smalls, Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Posted by: Chris Hearn  //  November 8, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Sold out! And for good reason, after all, it was the smalls, on their big return to Winnipeg for their (Slight Return) reunion tour, and people were excited. Well, I know I was. And so was the bass player for Black Mastiff who was the opening band for the tour. He expressed it often, using much profanity, just how excited he was to be part of this. And, so did the guy with the shaved head and Fu Manchu beard who was standing next to me.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Live Review (and some ramblings): Amon Amarth in Winnipeg, MB

Posted by: William O'Donnell  //  October 8, 2014 @ 2:38pm

It was a Monday night. What better way to escape the mundane and celebrate being one-day into your work week than with some eardrum shattering metal? Who said a good night's rest?! Get out of here! .... Good... now that we are purely among friends we can continue.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Live Review: Kiss & Shinedown

Posted by: Randy Hazzard  //  July 29, 2013 @ 6:34pm

You wanted the best, you got mediocre at best. The most redundant band in the world- KISS.

I first saw them in 2000 during their Farewell Tour. I remember it so vividly. I was sixteen and I believed every word they said. Paul Stanley promised to play all night. I thought I was going to be out until four in the morning considering they had such a large back catalogue. Paul Stanley told us we were the best city Canada had to offer.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Live Review: Alice In Chains

Posted by: Randy Hazzard  //  July 9, 2013 @ 7:33pm

It was devastating news in 2002 when I learned of Layne Staley's passing. He had so much character, angst, and emotion in his vocal delivery. Although Alice In Chains had been dormant for years, with Jerry Cantrell still popping out solo albums, I was hopeful that he would put the band back together after he got a few things out of his system.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Live Review: Motley Crue - Canadian Tour 2013

Posted by: Randy Hazzard  //  May 10, 2013 @ 5:06am

At Motley Crue on Tuesday night, I saw people older than my parents and almost as young as my child, but the majority of us on the floor were cascaded in our twenties. Fan enthusiasm for this event was quite strong -- the girl behind me couldn't have lived a day in the 80s but this was her seventh time seeing the band. Motley Crue has established themselves as an iconic classic rock band that avoided being stuck in a time capsule.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Live Review: Bon Jovi - "Because We Can" Tour

Posted by: Randy Hazzard  //  April 5, 2013 @ 7:30am

Something was missing at the Bon Jovi concert on Friday night, but it certainly wasn't fan enthusiasm.

The set list was balanced by playing 8 songs from the 80s, 4 from the 90s, 8 from the 2000s, 3 brand new tracks, and one full cover.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Photo Gallery: Tegan and Sara Live

Posted by: Paul Little  //  February 28, 2013 @ 3:20am

Tegan and Sara, the Canadian folk pop twin sister duo, have been performing together for almost 20 years and making records for nearly 15. With six studio releases under their belt, floating mostly between indie folk and rock, the sisters' seventh record (Heartthrob, released on January 29, 2013) takes them head on into a commercialized pop sound.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Winnipeg Jazz Festival Review: Janelle Monae with Roman GianArthur at the Burton Cummings Theatre

Posted by: Matt Moskal  //  July 3, 2012 @ 10:18pm

During his TD Jazz Lab at the Manitoba Music Conservatory, Lucky Peterson played to the people. Taking requests and telling tales, the Buffalo bluesman gave a preview of his storied career. Joined by his wife Tamara, Peterson encouraged audience participation through a number of classics and standards. He even threw in the occasional contemporary piece for good measure.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Winnipeg Jazz Festival Review: The Hold Steady with Greg MacPherson at the Burton Cummings Theatre

Posted by: Matt Moskal  //  July 1, 2012 @ 9:36pm

"Jazz is not just a genre of music," announced Steve Kirby.

The Manitoba bassist had Juss Jazz packed elbow-to-elbow while his hot quartet ended their set. As the evening unwound, venues facilitated genre-spanning performances all under the Jazz Festival banner. But as Kirby emphasized in a full-blooded jazz club performance, it was all in the spirit of the event.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Winnipeg Jazz Festival Review: Larry and his Flask with The Schomberg Fair at The Pyramid Cabaret

Posted by: Matt Moskal  //  June 30, 2012 @ 2:06pm

"I'm so sorry, this is not jazz," proclaimed a flustered patron to his table.

It was midway through Larry and His Flask's set. The man was in a suit and accompanied by two women in fancy dresses. Everyone else in The Pyramid Cabaret was dressed casual, in vests or had facial hair. After killing another shot, the trio departed.

Read More  •  Comments ()

View More Posts >