The Hunger Games

Release March 23, 2012 (Wide)
Cast Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Elizabeth Banks, John C. Reilly
Director Gary Ross
Writer Billy Ray, Suzanne Collins
Genres Thriller, Action, Drama
Studio Maple Pictures
Length 142 mins.


Katniss Everdeen, 16, lives in what remains of North America in the future. She lives in one of 12 districts, all run by the Capitol. When her father dies, she struggles to keep herself, her mother and her little sister alive. Even though she learns to hunt and trap and which plants are edible, they're always on the point of starvation.

Annually, one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 are chosen by lottery from each district to participate in the televised Hunger Games, in which the 24 children try to kill each other. The last one left alive is honored by the Capitol and his or her family is rewarded with plenty of food.

When her little sister's name is drawn, Katniss steps up to take her place in the competition.

Based on the first novel of Suzanne Collins' bestselling "The Hunger Games" trilogy.

Related Posts

Movie Releases by Year


SBM on Social Media on Facebook on Twitter on Instagram on YouTube