Album Review: Myq Kaplan - No Kidding

Posted by: Alex Mutcheson  //  March 15, 2017 @ 2:30am

Confession time! I have never listened to any of Myq Kaplan's previous albums. I have heard of him, but had never sat down and listened to an album or watched any of his specials.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Matthew Broussard - Pedantic

Posted by: Cathy Herbert  //  November 5, 2016 @ 9:33pm

The title of Matthew Broussard's debut album, Pedantic, suggests a sense of self-awareness, but that doesn't make Broussard any less insufferable. While the majority of his jokes are just fine and even a bit clever, he spends more time talking about his personal circumstances than delivering punchlines.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Maria Bamford - 20%

Posted by: Cathy Herbert  //  October 20, 2016 @ 9:40am

On her first album released in 2003, Maria Bamford started her set by saying that she likes to use a lot of voices in her comedy because, "My own voice does not command the respect and the attention that I believe I deserve." At the time, this seemed like an accurate statement.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Ahmed Bharoocha - Almond Badoody

Posted by: Cathy Herbert  //  October 19, 2016 @ 2:47pm

Don't feel too bad if you confuse Ahmed Bharoocha's name with the title of his debut album, Almond Badoody – it's probably not going to hurt his feelings. The twenty-five track album recorded in Madison, Wisconsin and put out by Comedy Central Records starts with some jokes about name pronunciation, and Bharoocha's laid back style is immediately apparent.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Doogie Horner - A Delicate Man

Posted by: Jay Caption  //  April 12, 2016 @ 10:41am

We have no doubt heard of many great stand-up comics over the years. Names like Jim Gaffigan, the late John Pinnette, Russell Peters, and of course Jerry Seinfeld are all hosehold names.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Adam Wade - The Human Comedy

Posted by: Tony Hinds  //  November 19, 2015 @ 3:03am

For a hardened stand-up comedy fanboy like myself, the label of 'storytelling/comedy album' can be like a dead canary in a coal mine. Don't get me wrong – I love storytelling. The act of storytelling is a sadly underrated skill, and one very much worthy of an hour-long audio recording.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Jon Steinberg - Between Me and the Wall

Posted by: Tony Hinds  //  January 18, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Jon Steinberg's hysterical new album, Between Me and the Wall is endearingly quaint and intimate. It feels less like a stand up special than a nightclub set, but just as entertaining.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Kurt Metzger - White Precious

Posted by: Tony Hinds  //  July 28, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Kurt Metzger's (@kurtmetzger on Twitter) hilarious new stand-up special, White Precious is a refreshingly dark and misanthropic way to spend an hour. Fans already familiar with his popular podcast, Race Wars will not be surprised by the candidly abrasive tone.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Myq Kaplan - Small, Dork, and Handsome

Posted by: Tony Hinds  //  May 27, 2014 @ 9:50am

Fans of comic Myq Kaplan (@myqkaplan on Twitter) will not be disappointed by his latest, Small, Dork, and Handsome.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Patrice O'Neal - Unreleased

Posted by: Tony Hinds  //  October 11, 2013 @ 3:43pm

It is not easy to write about an arguably legendary comedian like Patrice O'Neal. He passed away on November 29th, 2011 and in his absence, left a monumental space in the world of stand-up comedy.

Read More  •  Comments ()

View More Posts >