Album Review: Tommy Hawkins - Amy

Posted by: Nyala Ali  //  November 22, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Born out of a mutual appreciation for each other's contributions to Canrock's indie canon, Tommy Hawkins is a spirited side-project that pools the eccentric talents of multi-instrumentalists Thomas D'Arcy and Hawksley Workman.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Beatsteaks - Beatsteaks

Posted by: Chris Hearn  //  November 30, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Beatsteaks are one of my all-time favourite bands, so this review may come across as a tad biased. But, come ON, they are the Beatsteaks. To me, this is the best band Germany has given to the world (sorry Scorpions). Danke to you, Germany!

With each album I think, "Is this the one that is going to suck?" Each time, the answer is no. This is no exception. In fact, if you ask me it's one of their best albums.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Billy Idol - Kings and Queens of the Underworld

Posted by: Chris Hearn  //  November 16, 2014 @ 10:50am

Does anyone really need an introduction to Bill Idol? I don't think so. When it comes to Billy Idol, I like the hits, and he has had some good ones. But, face it, when some of these artists get older, they lose their edge and have difficulty repeating the successes of earlier releases. I didn't listen to -- or even know about -- 2005's Devil's Playground until recently. Yes, I have been out of touch with Billy Idol.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Casualties of Cool - Casualties of Cool

Posted by: Randy Hazzard  //  May 13, 2014 @ 10:28pm

It is hard sometimes to review something and not have it turn into an open love letter. That is the problem I have when it comes to discussing certain topics. I get that way with Christopher Nolan films, I get that way with episodes of How I Met Your Mother, I get it with anything related to Pink Floyd, and I also get it when I discuss anything to do with Devin Townsend.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Killswitch Engage - Disarm the Descent

Posted by: Randy Hazzard  //  April 2, 2013 @ 7:41pm

If the volume in your head phones is too loud, brace yourself. You will not be gracefully welcomed into Killswitch Engage's latest offering, Disarm the Descent. You will be welcomed to relentless screaming and pounding guitars. This is akin to a breath of fresh air to many fans of the band.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Pistol George Warren - Mindemoya

Posted by: Matt Moskal  //  May 31, 2012 @ 8:00am

When a stranger brags, "I'm in a rock band," you can imagine their sound. Self-proclaimed rockers haven't had much allure this decade. They've become the excitable inappropriate uncles of the music industry. Sudbury, Ontario's Pistol George Warren are not rockers. But they have walked a mile in their shoes. The group play a raw and soulful combination of blues, country and the rock 'n' roll prototype.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: OFF! - OFF!

Posted by: Matt Moskal  //  May 17, 2012 @ 8:00am

At 56-years old, Keith Morris has dedicated the majority of his life to hardcore punk. He was the leader of Circle Jerks for three decades and fronted Black Flag for Nervous Breakdown. When his term with one band ended, he fought tooth-and-nail to keep a microphone in-hand.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Kathleen Edwards - Voyageur

Posted by: Matt Moskal  //  May 10, 2012 @ 8:00am

Kathleen Edwards has made a career of manipulating bitterness into success. On her 2003 debut album, Failer, the dissolution of young love inspired the bulk of her creativity. Over a decade has passed since the Ottawa-native recorded her first songs at Little Bullhorn Studios.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Willis Earl Beal - Acousmatic Sorcery

Posted by: Matt Moskal  //  April 25, 2012 @ 8:00pm

Willis Earl Beal is an unfolding enigma. Every single line of his biography is fascinating. Beal's website simply displays his address and phone number. He offers to trade drawings in exchange for letters and sing to anyone who calls. This was inspired by the Chicago-native's homeless phase. During this time, he left CD-Rs of his songs all over his hometown.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: The Magnetic Fields - Love at the Bottom of the Sea

Posted by: Matt Moskal  //  April 4, 2012 @ 8:00pm

The Magnetic Fields' most ambitious undertakings could well be behind them. However, frontman Stephin Merritt's priorities are eccentric in their own right. Before 2010's folk-inspired album, Realism, Merritt claimed he had no desire to create big statements or epics. However, this assertion came on the heels of surrendering his synthesizers for a decade.

Read More  •  Comments ()

View More Posts >