JFL42 Reviews: Serious Talk with Funny People, Gabriel Iglesias, The El-Salomons, My Gorgeous Son

Posted by: Showbiz Monkeys  //  September 30, 2019 @ 5:34pm

Serious Talk with Funny People

September 28, 2019 • 3:00 PM @ TIFF Bell Lightbox

Reviewed by: Andrew Lizotte

Spirits were high as the panelists (Andy Kindler, Deanne Smith, Jessica Holmes, and Byron Bowers) took to

Read More  •  Comments ()

JFL42 Reviews: SiriusXM Top Comic Finals, Dave Merheje, and Andy Kindler's Alternative Show

Posted by: Showbiz Monkeys  //  September 28, 2019 @ 2:28pm

SiriusXM Top Comic Finals

September 26, 2019 • 7:00 PM @ The Queen Elizabeth Theatre

Reviewed by: George Hudson & Paul Little

The annual SiriusXM Top Comic competition once again had its finals as part of JFL42 on Thursday night, with 10 comics competing for the top spot and a $2

Read More  •  Comments ()

JFL42 Reviews: Kate Berlant, Seán Cullen, and Jon Dore

Posted by: Showbiz Monkeys  //  September 26, 2019 @ 11:42am

Kate Berlant

September 24, 2019 • 9:00 PM @ The Royal

Reviewed by: Paul Little

Kate Berlant is an absolute joy to watch.

Read More  •  Comments ()

JFL42 Reviews: Gettin' Better with Ron Funches, Chanty Marostica, and Seán Cullen

Posted by: Andrew Lizotte  //  September 24, 2019 @ 8:18pm

Getting Better with Ron Funches

September 22, 2019 • 5:30 PM @ TIFF Bell Lighthouse

Conditions were perfect for the kind of mellow gold that only Ron Funches can deliver. The seats were comfy, my herbal tea quietly steeping in the cup holder, my hair being gently tussled by the air conditioning. I was ready for essentially what was a meditation session with jokes.

Read More  •  Comments ()

JFL42 Reviews: Between Two Ferns, Broad City, and Nick Kroll

Posted by: Andrew Lizotte  //  September 21, 2019 @ 4:06pm

Between Two Ferns: The Movie

September 20, 2019 • 2:00 PM @ TIFF Bell Lightbox

"How do I turn a five minute sketch into a feature length film?" is the age-old question that I'm sure keeps Lorne Michaels up at night.

Read More  •  Comments ()

JFL42 Reviews: Marc Maron and Jonathan Van Ness

Posted by: Showbiz Monkeys  //  September 20, 2019 @ 1:19pm

Marc Maron

September 19, 2019 • 7:00 PM @ Meridian Hall

Reviewed by: Andrew Lizotte

I love it when a performer is a journey and not a destination. In our era, no performer fits that description more than Marc Maron.

Read More  •  Comments ()

JFL42 Reviews: Chris Gethard, 'Beautiful/Anonymous', and Andy Kindler's 'Alternative Show'

Posted by: J.D. Renaud  //  September 29, 2018 @ 3:25pm

Beautiful/Anonymous and Chris Gethard

September 28, 2018 • 5:00 PM @ TIFF Bell Lightbox • 9:00 PM @ Winter Garden Theatre

Chris Gethard has a connection with his fans that can not be understated.

Read More  •  Comments ()

JFL42 Reviews: Hannibal Buress, Maria Bamford, and Andy Kindler's 'Alternative Show'

Posted by: J.D. Renaud  //  September 28, 2018 @ 3:16pm

Hannibal Buress

September 27, 2018 • 7:00 PM • The Sony Centre

If there's anything Hannibal Buress can't make funny, I've certainly not heard about it.

Read More  •  Comments ()

JFL42 Reviews: Todd Glass and Andy Kindler's 'Alternative Show'

Posted by: J.D. Renaud  //  September 27, 2018 @ 3:25pm

Todd Glass

The Garrisson • September 26, 2018 • 7:00 PM

When you're at a Todd Glass show, you are truly in the presence of a show business professional. When I showed up to the venue a bit early and was told I couldn't come in yet because he and his band were "still in rehearsals", I knew something very fun would be in store.

Read More  •  Comments ()

JFL42 Reviews: Matt Braunger and Guy Montgomery

Posted by: J.D. Renaud  //  September 26, 2018 @ 4:08pm

Matt Braunger

September 25, 2018 • 7:00 PM • The Garrisson

Lovable weirdo and favourite of Winnipeg's Oddblock Comedy Festival, Matt Braunger injected a serious amount of fun and energy into what had been a pretty dreary day in Toronto.

Read More  •  Comments ()

View More Posts >

SBM on Social Media

ShowbizMonkeys.com on Facebook ShowbizMonkeys.com on Twitter ShowbizMonkeys.com on Instagram ShowbizMonkeys.com on YouTube