Album Review: Tommy Hawkins - Amy

Posted by: Nyala Ali  •  November 22, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Born out of a mutual appreciation for each other's contributions to Canrock's indie canon, Tommy Hawkins is a spirited side-project that pools the eccentric talents of multi-instrumentalists Thomas D'Arcy and Hawksley Workman.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Beatsteaks - Beatsteaks

Posted by: Chris Hearn  •  November 30, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Beatsteaks are one of my all-time favourite bands, so this review may come across as a tad biased. But, come ON, they are the Beatsteaks. To me, this is the best band Germany has given to the world (sorry Scorpions). Danke to you, Germany!

With each album I think, "Is this the one that is going to suck?" Each time, the answer is no. This is no exception.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Billy Idol - Kings and Queens of the Underworld

Posted by: Chris Hearn  •  November 16, 2014 @ 10:50am

Does anyone really need an introduction to Bill Idol? I don't think so. When it comes to Billy Idol, I like the hits, and he has had some good ones. But, face it, when some of these artists get older, they lose their edge and have difficulty repeating the successes of earlier releases.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Live Review: the smalls, Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Posted by: Chris Hearn  •  November 8, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Sold out! And for good reason, after all, it was the smalls, on their big return to Winnipeg for their (Slight Return) reunion tour, and people were excited. Well, I know I was. And so was the bass player for Black Mastiff who was the opening band for the tour. He expressed it often, using much profanity, just how excited he was to be part of this.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Live Review (and some ramblings): Amon Amarth in Winnipeg, MB

Posted by: William O'Donnell  •  October 8, 2014 @ 2:38pm

It was a Monday night. What better way to escape the mundane and celebrate being one-day into your work week than with some eardrum shattering metal? Who said a good night's rest?! Get out of here! .... Good...

Read More  •  Comments ()

Album Review: Casualties of Cool - Casualties of Cool

Posted by: Randy Hazzard  •  May 13, 2014 @ 10:28pm

It is hard sometimes to review something and not have it turn into an open love letter. That is the problem I have when it comes to discussing certain topics.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Live Review: Kiss & Shinedown

Posted by: Randy Hazzard  •  July 29, 2013 @ 6:34pm

You wanted the best, you got mediocre at best. The most redundant band in the world- KISS.

I first saw them in 2000 during their Farewell Tour. I remember it so vividly. I was sixteen and I believed every word they said. Paul Stanley promised to play all night. I thought I was going to be out until four in the morning considering they had such a large back catalogue.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Live Review: Alice In Chains

Posted by: Randy Hazzard  •  July 9, 2013 @ 7:33pm

It was devastating news in 2002 when I learned of Layne Staley's passing. He had so much character, angst, and emotion in his vocal delivery. Although Alice In Chains had been dormant for years, with Jerry Cantrell still popping out solo albums, I was hopeful that he would put the band back together after he got a few things out of his system.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Live Review: Motley Crue - Canadian Tour 2013

Posted by: Randy Hazzard  •  May 10, 2013 @ 5:06am

At Motley Crue on Tuesday night, I saw people older than my parents and almost as young as my child, but the majority of us on the floor were cascaded in our twenties. Fan enthusiasm for this event was quite strong -- the girl behind me couldn't have lived a day in the 80s but this was her seventh time seeing the band.

Read More  •  Comments ()

Live Review: Bon Jovi - "Because We Can" Tour

Posted by: Randy Hazzard  •  April 5, 2013 @ 7:30am

Something was missing at the Bon Jovi concert on Friday night, but it certainly wasn't fan enthusiasm.

The set list was balanced by playing 8 songs from the 80s, 4 from the 90s, 8 from the 2000s, 3 brand new tracks, and one full cover.

Read More  •  Comments ()

View More Posts >

SBM on Social Media

ShowbizMonkeys.com on Facebook ShowbizMonkeys.com on Twitter ShowbizMonkeys.com on Instagram ShowbizMonkeys.com on YouTube