JFL42 Reviews: Gettin' Better with Ron Funches, Chanty Marostica, and Seán Cullen

Posted by: Andrew Lizotte  •  September 24, 2019 @ 8:18pm

Getting Better with Ron Funches

September 22, 2019 • 5:30 PM @ TIFF Bell Lighthouse

Conditions were perfect for the kind of mellow gold that only Ron Funches can deliver. The seats were comfy, my herbal tea quietly steeping in the cup holder, my hair being gently tussled by the air conditioning. I was ready for essentially what was a meditation session with jokes.

Read More  •  Comments ()

JFL42 Reviews: Between Two Ferns, Broad City, and Nick Kroll

Posted by: Andrew Lizotte  •  September 21, 2019 @ 4:06pm

Between Two Ferns: The Movie

September 20, 2019 • 2:00 PM @ TIFF Bell Lightbox

"How do I turn a five minute sketch into a feature length film?" is the age-old question that I'm sure keeps Lorne Michaels up at night.

Read More  •  Comments ()

JFL42 Reviews: Marc Maron and Jonathan Van Ness

Posted by: Showbiz Monkeys  •  September 20, 2019 @ 1:19pm

Marc Maron

September 19, 2019 • 7:00 PM @ Meridian Hall

Reviewed by: Andrew Lizotte

I love it when a performer is a journey and not a destination. In our era, no performer fits that description more than Marc Maron.

Read More  •  Comments ()

JFL42 Reviews: Chris Gethard, 'Beautiful/Anonymous', and Andy Kindler's 'Alternative Show'

Posted by: J.D. Renaud  •  September 29, 2018 @ 3:25pm

Beautiful/Anonymous and Chris Gethard

September 28, 2018 • 5:00 PM @ TIFF Bell Lightbox • 9:00 PM @ Winter Garden Theatre

Chris Gethard has a connection with his fans that can not be understated.

Read More  •  Comments ()

JFL42 Reviews: Hannibal Buress, Maria Bamford, and Andy Kindler's 'Alternative Show'

Posted by: J.D. Renaud  •  September 28, 2018 @ 3:16pm

Hannibal Buress

September 27, 2018 • 7:00 PM • The Sony Centre

If there's anything Hannibal Buress can't make funny, I've certainly not heard about it.

Read More  •  Comments ()

JFL42 Reviews: Todd Glass and Andy Kindler's 'Alternative Show'

Posted by: J.D. Renaud  •  September 27, 2018 @ 3:25pm

Todd Glass

The Garrisson • September 26, 2018 • 7:00 PM

When you're at a Todd Glass show, you are truly in the presence of a show business professional. When I showed up to the venue a bit early and was told I couldn't come in yet because he and his band were "still in rehearsals", I knew something very fun would be in store.

Read More  •  Comments ()

JFL42 Reviews: Matt Braunger and Guy Montgomery

Posted by: J.D. Renaud  •  September 26, 2018 @ 4:08pm

Matt Braunger

September 25, 2018 • 7:00 PM • The Garrisson

Lovable weirdo and favourite of Winnipeg's Oddblock Comedy Festival, Matt Braunger injected a serious amount of fun and energy into what had been a pretty dreary day in Toronto.

Read More  •  Comments ()

JFL42 Reviews: Anthony Atamanuik and 'Stop Podcasting Yourself'

Posted by: J.D. Renaud  •  September 24, 2018 @ 2:06pm

Anthony Atamanuik

September 23, 2018 • 12:00 PM @ TIFF Bell Lightbox • 7:00 PM @ Winter Garden Theatre

Anthony Atamanuik performing as the 45th (and last) President of the United States, Donald Trump, was my choice for Sunday, so when at the first show he straight up told the audience that there

Read More  •  Comments ()

JFL42 Reviews: Seth Meyers and 'The Smartest Man in the World' Podcast

Posted by: J.D. Renaud  •  September 23, 2018 @ 12:20pm

Seth Meyers

September 22, 2018 • 9:45 PM • The Sony Centre

The Late Night host may not be primarily known for his skills as a stand-up, but it wouldn't be fair to discount Seth Meyers one bit, as he proved to a hot Saturday night crowd at the Sony Centre.

Read More  •  Comments ()

JFL42 Review: Graham Clark at the Garrison

Posted by: J.D. Renaud  •  September 22, 2018 @ 3:37pm

I've known Graham Clark for a few years now, and seen him perform numerous times under a wide variety of different circumstances: gala tapings, Fringe shows, standard comedy clubs, weirder alt shows, and live podcasts, just to name a few.

Read More  •  Comments ()

< Previous  •  Next >

SBM on Social Media

ShowbizMonkeys.com on Facebook ShowbizMonkeys.com on Twitter ShowbizMonkeys.com on Instagram ShowbizMonkeys.com on YouTube